Q&A: Exclusive talk with title leader Geddie ahead of Silverstone decider

6 10 2011

Glynn Geddie

Geddie leads the title going into the two hour Silverstone finale © Malcolm Griffiths

WE talk to Glynn Geddie ahead of his championship decider in Silverstone with the title still in the balance.

How excited are you for the final race?

I feel really relaxed about the whole thing and I’m ready to get the job done. I’m not a nervous person so won’t let what’s going on around me distract me from preparing properly for the race.

I’ll start to get more excited when we head into qualifying before the main event on Saturday.

Are you optimistic for the outcome?

I’m quietly confident we can do enough to seal the championship. You’ve got to believe in your own ability or there’s no point being out there on the track.

If you don’t believe you are going to win then you won’t win.

But it’s going to be tough and we both must perform at our best to make sure we succeed.

Do you like Silverstone?

It’s a track that should suit our Ferrari 458 as it’s got lots of good long straights where we can make the most of the Ferrari’s speed.

I raced there in the FIA GT3 earlier this season and it’s a mega track especially with the new grand prix. I can’t wait to get on to the track.

How much do you want to go one better than last year and take the title?

It would mean a lot for me to win the championship this season. It was great to be able to help David Ashburn win it last year.

However, at the same time it was quite frustrating as I only missed out on a joint victory after missing a few of the earlier rounds so really want to go all the way this time round.

How much will it mean to you sharing the success with your dad?

I don’t know if a father and son partnership has won the British GT Championship before and if we can become the first it would be a tremendous achievement.

I know dad is looking forward to the Silverstone race and it’s been a real joy racing alongside him this season.

He’s performed really well and who knows we might be back in the British GT again next season as defending champions. It’s just really rewarding to be able to compete at a very high level alongside him.

We’re close and get on well and have managed to really spur each other on this season.

Who do you think poses the biggest threat?

We’re fortunate to hold an eight point lead over their nearest rivals Duncan Cameron and Matt Griffin who run in a M-Tech Ferrari 458 going into the last weekend. They will probably be the biggest threat but when you consider a total seven teams can win it you can’t rule anyone out.

How will you approach the race? Go for the win or take the required points?

Several teams are still in with a chance of winning the team which is a fact we must remain mindful of. It would be great to win the race and finish on a real high so we’ll be going for the win.

But we’ll also be guided by our CRS team.

How good has the Ferrari 458 been in its debut year?

The 458 has been particularly enjoyable to drive, it has been a real challenge and a step up from the Porsche from last year. In a straight line it’s really quick but it does struggle slightly when it’s wet so let’s hope it’s dry at Silverstone.

There a few things that we could perhaps work on to make it even better but it’s still been a fantastic learning experience for me to compete in such a top class machine.

Do you have an firm plans for next year or anything in the pipeline?

I don’t have anything finalised for next season just yet, I suppose a lot will hinge on what happens this weekend. If I can win the British GT that will represent a significant breakthrough especially just a season after finishing second when I helped David Ashburn win the overall championship.

Winning the title could open up new opportunities for me and I need to carefully consider my future decisions particularly at an important time in my career.

have had 5 years driving that car and whilst it hasnt always been succesful it’s always been enjoyable, Im not sure what the plan is for 2012 so I’ll just treat it as another race and try to get the best result I can

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

